About Us

The Winfield Fire Protection District Today…

The Winfield Fire Protection District is currently led by Fire Chief Steven Evans and Deputy Chief Eric Ermer, with the assistance of Administrative Assistant Robin Youngberg. As evidenced in our history, the District has been served by generations of dedicated Firefighters and continues to grow.

Today, the District answers an average of over 2,300 calls per year. These calls range from fires in cars and homes, emergency medical calls, dive and technical rescue calls, as well as service calls. The District encompasses approximately thirteen square miles with over 30,000 residents.

Some unique challenges exist within the District, which include:

  • More than 30 bodies of water
  • 2 major hospitals
  • 4 long-term health care facilities
  • Approximately 300 commercial occupancies
  • 5 educational facilities
  • 2 kindergarten/daycare facilities
  • 7 churches
  • Approximately 2/3 of the District is not serviced by fire hydrants

The District maintains a fleet of:

  • 2 engines
  • 1 pumper/tanker
  • 2 ambulances
  • 1 brush truck
  • 1 rescue squad
  • 2 chief vehicles

Daily staffing is provided by 5 personnel, comprised of 1 full-time Lieutenant and 4 full-time Firefighter/Paramedics, with part-time Firefighter/Paramedics on staff to work open shifts to maintain the minimum staffing level for 24-hour staffing every day of the year.  This minimum staffing level is required in order to staff 1 Fire Engine, and 1 Ambulance around the clock.  In order to increase efficiency, the District utilizes the “Jump Company” model where the Engine company jumps to the second ambulance to respond to second ambulance requests while the first ambulance is on a call; and the ambulance crew jumps to the Pumper/Tender to provide water supply for fires in areas of the District which don’t have fire hydrants.    

The Winfield Fire Protection District Board of Trustees is served currently by George Kallas, Phillip Saas, Jenny Saylor, Randall Simpson and Robb Hannen. This Board is responsible for reviewing and approving the budget and the business matters of the District.

The District’s Board of Fire Commissioners is comprised of Commissioners Naresh Nair, Randal Voss, and Kyle Wolber. This Board is responsible for handling the testing, hiring and disciplinary matters for the full-time firefighting staff.